Saturday, May 5, 2012

I Made It!

My flight got in about an hour and a half ago. It was a nice flight for the most part. I got upgraded to a Business Elite seat in the upper deck of the plane, which was amazing. The flight ended up only being 12 hours and 11 minutes rather than the 13 hours they said it might be. Even though the flight was quicker than expected, the flight departure delay still put us an hour over when we should have arrived.  I got through immigration and customs (barely) and got my luggage from baggage claim. I then had to find my way to the hotel I am staying at. Although it wasn't as bad as I was expecting but it definitely was no easy task. I was able to ask for instructions at a desk in the airport and found my way out of the airport and I saw my hotel off in the distance so I start walking towards it. I get pretty much there when I realize that the street I have to cross to get there has to be done via the elevated walkway back where I came out of the airport, so I had to walk all of the way back and cross.
    I'm not sure if it's just because I'm at the airport, but so far pretty much everyone I have interacted with has spoken English well enough to communicate with me, which is awesome. I feel bad that I cannot communicate in Japanese back to them but in due time I should be able to. This just makes me think about how we expect everyone who comes to America to speak English. I now see how ridiculous this is. It's a lot to expect of someone, especially in a situation like mine where you are traveling by yourself to a foreign country. You may know some of the language but it just makes things so much easier if after being stressed and jet lagged to be able to speak in a language you are comfortable with.

That's about it for today. I think I'm going to go bathe and get ready for bed because it has been one long day!
Keep an eye out for pictures to come either to here or Facebook soon!

1 comment: